Oregon Republican Party to elect their National Committeeman and Committeewoman, Saturday, April 2, 2016.

The event will take place in Medford, Saturday April 2, 2016.  Delegates of the Oregon Republican Party attending the meeting will elect the next National Committeeman and National Committeewoman of Oregon, to represent them for the next four years.

Incumbents holding these positions are Solomon Yue (Polk County), first elected as National Committeeman in 2000, and Donna Cain (Rogue River), first elected as National Committeewoman in 2008.

Challengers for the position of National Committeeman are Perry Atkinson, who has worked in positions at all levels of the Republican Party over a period of 30 years.  In 1999 - 2001, he served as Chairman of the Republican Party and was so successful that he won re-election by acclamation and served a second term as ORP Chairman 2001-2003.   During his years of service as ORP Chairman, Mr. Atkinson raised more money for Republican candidates and the ORP than any other Chairman in ORP history; $5.6 million.

The second challenger for this position is Mark Callahan (Multnomah County), who is also running for U.S Senate.

Running for position of National Committeewoman is former Oregon State Senator Marylin Shannon.  Ms. Shannon has also worked in positions at all levels of the Republican Party over a period of 40 years, is highly respected by her peers, and has held the position of National Committeewoman previously, as well.